ON THE BRIDGE

B5657389-4697-4A8D-B987-86979BB1D111.jpeg

You’ll usually pray no one you know sees you walking into that hall…

“I have warned you countless times about forgetting your phone.”

“Sorry Madam.” He says walking towards the bonnet of the car.

My car broke down on the third mainland bridge and my phone was dead. And today I forgot to bring my power bank. I obviously also picked the wrong day to wear new heels to work. The Lagos sun was scorching and my feet hurt like hell. I always wondered what people did when their cars broke down on this bridge, maybe life wanted to show me answers in 3D.

“Madam e be like say dem wan help us.” My driver says pointing at the car pulling up behind us.

A familiar looking color of hair emerges from the back seat of the car almost making me run into my car, lock the doors and never come out. I could always tell who it was that wore a huge mass of Afro grey hair with grace.

“I need not come so close to tell who it is that would be looking like a Fashion icon beside a failed car under this scorching sun.” He has his ever welcoming smile on.

“How have you been?” I ask as he pulls in for a hug.

“Good. Now get your things from your car and get into mine. I have my mechanic in the car, he’ll have your car fixed then have your driver bring it to you later. If that’s fine by you.”

***

My white chiffon blouse had already taken Femi’s cologne. It always did whenever we hugged and I would take sniffs of it till I took it off. But that was many years ago before I was forty-two and unmarried to him. Because I walked away from our relationship without giving him a reason. I always dreaded the day we would meet because I knew he’d try to dig up answers. Maybe it was time to tell him. I didn’t want to be with any other man too. I didn’t want to cause grief to anyone or be a source burden. I had learned to cope with my situation even it made me sad sometimes but coping with it was better than letting it take over my life.

***

“Where are you headed?” Femi’s voice jolts me back to the present.

“Civic center.”

We get to the building I always visited monthly since I decided to make the best out my life. I alight from the car and so did Femi. He immediately grabs my arm firmly and pulls me to a corner.

“Why didn’t you marry me? I spent these years asking myself what I ever did to make you walk away without proper explanations. I thought we were in love.” His eyes are beginning to water and so was mine.

“I can’t tell you.” I begin to walk towards the building.

“What happened to you? Where did I go wrong. Don’t you think I deserve answers after all these years? I have been on the bridge of conflict and confusion. And the event on the bridge today has posed another chance for me to cross over to a proper conclusion of our story. Please.”

“Do you have an hour to spare?” I ask.

“You know I have more than that.”

I lead him into the building into that hall. That hall where if you were me, you usually pray no one sees you walking into. I take him to my usual sitting position where he takes a seat beside me. The hall was getting filled with those faces I usually saw in it.

“I found out about the result of a careless night.”

Then I had him a pamphlet with bold inscriptions.

HIV IS NOT THE END OF THE WORLD.

2 comments

Leave a comment